An American’s Creed

Ah what difference a hundred years or so makes in the rise and fall of a society. Ah but if we had this kind of liberty loving individuals in our government today! Here is one version from 1917:

The American’s Creed

by William Tyler Page

I believe in the United States of America as a government of the people, by the people, for the people; whose just powers are derived from the consent of the governed, a democracy in a republic, a sovereign Nation of many sovereign States; a perfect union, one and inseparable; established upon those principles of freedom, equality, justice, and humanity for which American patriots sacrificed their lives and fortunes.

I therefore believe it is my duty to my country to love it, to support its Constitution, to obey its laws, to respect its flag, and to defend it against all enemies.

-Written 1917, accepted by the United States House of Representatives on April 3, 1918.

And some historic info [here]

And here is another version from 1952

An American’s Creed – By Dean Alfange
Dictionary of Quotations ^ | Reprinted in The Reader’s Digest, October 1952 | Dean Alfange

I do not choose to be a common man
It is my right to be uncommon…
If I can. I seek opportunity… Not security.

I do not wish to be a kept citizen,
Humbled and dulled by having the state to dream and build, to
Fail and succeed.

I refuse to barter incentive for a dole.
I prefer the challenges of life to the
Guaranteed existence; the thrill of
Fulfillment to the stale calm of utopia.

I will not trade freedom for beneficence
Nor my dignity for a hand out. I will
Never cower before any master nor bend
to any threat.

It is my heritage to stand erect,
proud, and unafraid; to think and act for
myself; enjoy the benefits of my
creations; and to face the world boldly
and say, “This I have done with my own hand,
I am a man. I am an American.
http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/f-chat/1483975/posts

Leave a Reply

